Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Down to Earth personality, with a determined mind and a gorgeous headful of natural tresses, Sarita Jackman from Barbados, age 26 shaired her hairstory with me recently.

Start... TWA stage #Beautiful

Start… TWA stage #Beautiful

Natural for 2 1/2 years, Sarita dished about her favourite products, styles and even told us the one trend she would like to try.

SK: Why did you decide to go natural? Sarita: Foremost because I like change but also because I wanted to stop using harsh chemical relaxers.

SK: Why did you choose to big chop or transition? Sarita: I chose to big chop because I like to wear my hair short. I have no patience for transitioning so it was an easy choice.

SK: How easy or difficult was it in the beginning stages when you chopped or started your transition? Sarita: It was the easiest and the most difficult part of the journey. I had never taken care of my natural hair since I was chemically processing my hair from age 11. The easy part was the length, I could wash and style my hair in no time! The difficult part was learning what my hair did and did not like, but hey, if I messed up, head under the sink and I am good to go! 🙂

SK: What is your hair regimen? Sarita: Wash and condition weekly. Leave in conditioner and a sealing oil. That is it! I am a no fuss person. If I am styling my hair in twists/ twist out or doing a wash and go, I will use a styling product.

Growth... [Photo compliments Royal Impressions]

Growth… [Photo compliments Royal Impressions]

SK: Name your favourite products Sarita: Herbal Essences hello hydration conditioner, Giovanni direct leave in conditioner, castor oil, eco styler gel (olive oil)

SK: How easy or difficult is it sourcing products that you love to use on your hair where you live or reside? Sarita: Generally easy, I choose products based on their availability locally. But I realise you naturals have been making it difficult for me to get my Giovanni leave in conditioner *side eye* (Aint that the truth lolol 😉 )

SK: Favourite style Sarita: 2 big grandmother cornrows down either side of my head (said like a true Bajan*), wrapped around the back and held in place with 2 bobby pins. Fits any occasion and is super simple. SK: Tell me about a great hair day or a bad hair day in short, or about a liked or frustrating feature about your hair. Sarita: Like most naturals in the Caribbean, humidity is the enemy. You leave home with one hairstyle and return home with another. (Is that true for your readers too?) Shrinkage is another frustrating feature. I often shock myself with my length but unless you really stretch your hair it often feels as though it’s not growing. The most liked feature is the texture. I have what people would categorise as 4c hair and I love it.

SK: Do you have any hair crushes? Sarita: Perhaps when I was contemplating going natural there were a few, but as I learnt my hair texture I quickly stopped watching other people’s hair simply because I did not want to create an unattainable expectation for my own hair. (Completely understood!) SK: What would you say to employers and teachers out there who think that natural hair is not for the office or the classroom, respectively? Sarita: Nothing. I don’t respond to ignorance.

SK: Describe your hair in one word, and why? Sarita: Hair – That which grows from my head

What 2 1/2 years of growth looks like on Sarita...#Beautiful

What 2 1/2 years of growth looks like on Sarita…#Beautiful

But there is no guarantee that Sarita’s tresses will always look like this. Why? Keep reading lol 😉  SK: Name something outrageous or edgy or just different you would love to try with your hair but have not had the guts to try YET! Sarita: Grey highlights! Thank you very much Sarita, much blessings and growth, we pray for you! 🙂  Bajan* – a person from Barbados, used in place of ‘Barbadian’ at times to refer to nationality.

