Tags

, , , , , , , ,

This fashionista, graduate and honest naturalista also happens to be my little cousin who I love… Welcome Vita!

#Tapered TWA

#Tapered TWA

SK: What’s your name and country of birth?

Kavita and I’m born and raised in Barbados! (We loved Fresh Prince of Bel-Air… clearly lol 🙂 )

SK: Age

Kavita: 23 years old

SK: Tell me a little about yourself

Kavita: Recent UWI graduate, Newly Certified Travel agent and aspiring teacher. I’m very creative and have dabbled in everything from makeup artistry to nail technology – which I’m also certified in. I believe that no good deed is too small in making a difference, and as such I make it a goal not to leave this Earth having only academic and professional achievements to my name.
And on the fun-side, well I love TV, especially crime based series, but my guilty pleasure is RealityTV ha ha! I get down with the best, but nothing beats a chill day with family, my girls and/or guys doing a lot of nothing.

SK: How long have you been natural or transitioning?

#Protective Styles BEFORE BC

#Protective Styles BEFORE BC

Kavita: I’ve been transitioning since June of 2014. And natural since October when I BC-ed (Big chopped, for those of you still not up-to-date with the lingo)

SK: Why did you decide to go natural?

Kavita: Initially I did it to texturise (tex-lax) my hair because while straight hair is cute, I HATED the actual process of a relaxer since I have a sensitive scalp. However, I fell in love with my natural hair, so I’m going to rock it until I’m tired again.

SK: Why did you choose to big chop or transition?

Kavita: I transitioned and was wearing protective styleS and then big chopped when I just felt like I was really ready. That ended up being after 4 months later. What the 18-month transition people do is crazy to me. Anything 6 months-plus for that matter. Ha ha 🙂

From BC in Oct '14 to before Tapered cut in Jan '15 #Growth

From BC in Oct ’14 to before Tapered cut in Jan ’15 #Growth

SK: How easy or difficult was it in the beginning stages when you chopped or started your transition?

Kavita: It was easy with respect to styling because I had 4 inches of hair. It was hard getting accustomed to my face with the TWA for that same reason. I felt I looked like a boy. A little silly, I know. (But I completely understand)

SK: What is your hair regimen?

Kavita: I can’t say I have one. I do what I need to do, when I feel it needs to be done, or sometimes I don’t. Ha ha! If it’s dry I moisturize, or co-wash and moisturize. When I think it needs washing, I do that. It really just depends on my mood because I just do whatever (Sounds like many naturalistas the world over!)

SK: Name your favourite products

Kavita: Good ole Shea Butter and Softee Silky Shine Olive Oil Styling Gel. Is water a product? (Darn skippy it is! Lol 😉 )

SK: How easy or difficult is it sourcing products that you love to use on your hair where you live or reside?

Kavita: I think storeowners have done their research and are making natural products readily available. However there are one or two brands I’d like to try that I haven’t seen on shelves as yet.

SK: What’s your favourite style?

Kavita: Definitely a wash and go!

SK: Tell me about a great hair day or a bad hair day in short, or about a liked or frustrating feature about your hair.

Kavita: I love my curl pattern and it amazes me how black hair responds to water and moisture in general.

I dislike how time consuming it can be to manage. A wash and go takes like 20 times to perfect and when I wash my hair I have to commit at least an hour to dealing with my hair that day. (Lucky her to have a TWA, 1 hour not the whole day lol)

SK: Do you have any hair crushes?

Yolanda Renee

Yolanda Renee

Kavita: My hair crushes tend to be just regular people I know but in terms of people in the public eye, I love Yolanda Renee from YouTube/EtcBlogMag. Her hair texture is most similar to mine and it’s gorgeous!

SK: What would you say to employers and teachers out there who think that natural hair is not for the office or the classroom, respectively?

Kavita: I haven’t encountered it personally, but I know that level of ignorance is perpetuated by some even though we are in a predominantly black country and its 2015.

SK: Describe your hair in one word, and why?

#ProtectiveStlyes post-BC #crotchetbraids #wigs

#ProtectiveStlyes post-BC #crotchetbraids #wigs

Kavita: Whatchamacallit- strange right?? But it’s really just hair to me. Anything goes! I will rock my crowning glory today and be in a completely different mood tomorrow and rock a straight sleek wig. (What a word? What you may call it!)

SK: Name something outrageous or edgy or just different you would love to try with your hair but have not had the guts to try YET!

Kavita: I already shaved my sides so I’d like to play around with colour. I did it and it doesn’t show much because I went light trying to a avoid damage. I bought another color and it was in my bathroom taking up space until my birthday in March…so now I need a new thing to try! 😉

#Coloured

#Coloured

Well Best wishes Vita in all your endeavours with all your God-given skills and talents!

