Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Another Nature Isle naturalista has shaired her HairStory with us and we are extremely happy!

Welcome Kerdisha St. Louis… *big round of applause*

10906432_10152483956906326_6754834880684588722_n

GIS Presenter Kerdisha St. Louis

So tell us about yourself…

Kerdisha: My name is Kerdisha St.Louis hailing from the nature isle of the Caribbean, Dominica. Those who know me well would call me a very friendly, optimistic and independent person. I enjoy spending my time participating in volunteer work as well as keeping up to date on world events ( I’m a news junkie lol).

I am 21 years old and I am an Information Assistant for the Government of Dominica (my aspiration someday is to be a Reporter).

SK: Does natural hair impact on professionalism in your opinion?

Kerdisha: I think that having natural hair does not take away from my professionalism, on the contrary I think it gives me an edge as I seem more exotic and well-traveled lol.

BIG puff love

BIG puff love

SK: How long have you been natural?

Kerdisha: I’ve been natural for about three years now.

SK: Why did you start the natural hair journey?

Kerdisha: Going natural was something I decided to do in college. I was all about discovering myself and loving myself for who I am so embracing my natural hair felt right at that time.

SK: The age old question, transition or big chop? ha ha 🙂

Kerdisha: I chose to transition. I wanted to grow out my natural hair because I was not sure how I would look with really short natural hair. Hence a lot of protective styling braids being my favorite.

SK: How easy or difficult was it at the beginning of your transition?

Kerdisha: When I started my transition it was relatively easy. I wore my hair in protective styles so it was low maintenance and it gave me the opportunity to find out what worked with my hair or not which made eventually dealing with my natural hair a whole lot easier.

SK: What is your hair regimen?

Kerdisha: My hair regimen is pretty simple. Every two weeks or so I detangle my hair with a cheap shampoo (Vo5) and an oil mix ( coconut, castor, olive etc) put it in large loose two strand twists and cleanse my scalp. I do this with diluted sulfate free shampoo and all of this is done out of the shower. Then I will rinse everything out and do a deep condition for an hour with either hair mayonnaise or hair cholesterol depending on what I think my hair needs.

TWA

TWA

After a brief session in an old tee-shirt to absorb most of the water ill moisturize with kinky curly knot today or Giovanni Direct Leave in conditioner, add a light oil such as sweet almond oil or Jaydee’s Naturals Whipped Shea Butter from my friend Jodie who you previously Interviewed.

After this I let my hair dry in braids to stretch it out and proceed to style for the week after it has dried to about 95%.

SK: What do you do in terms of daily hair care chica?

Kerdisha: I will moisturize during the week with my mix of KCKT (Kinky Curly Knot Today) or Giovanni Direct, water and aloe vera juice and seal with either an oil or whipped shea butter.

SK: So what are your favourite products?

Kerdisha: Kinky Curly Knot Today and Shea butter. They go awesome together in my hair.

SK: How easy or difficult is it sourcing products in Dominica?

Puffs can be sophisticated  too

Puffs can be sophisticated too

Kerdisha: Although it is relatively easy to source products where I live they are pretty expensive so I end up ordering them from overseas most of the time.

SK: Do you have a favourite style?

Kerdisha: My go-to hairstyle is definitely a high puff or a bun.

SK: What do you love about your hair?

Kerdisha: A great hair day for me is just having my hair go in the style I want it to go on that day (which takes a lot of work lol). I love my hair so it’s hard for me to find a frustrating feature but if I had to choose one it may just be the fact that I have a lot of densely packed hair so a lot of patience is required when dealing with it (which is not one of my strong points).

SK: Do you have any haircrushes?

Kerdisha: My hair crushes would have to be Skai Jackson aka Zuri from ‘Hey Jessie’, Chime Edwards aka Haircrush and Laila-Jean aka Fusion of Cultures.

Neffy Fro

Neffy Fro

image_30646

Chime Edwards #Haircrush

SK: If you could speak to employers and teachers who look down on natural kinks, what would you say?

up-do versatility

up-do versatility

Kerdisha: I would tell employers that natural hair is part of a person’s identity and that there are ways that you can make it presentable for the work environment.

I would tell teachers that they should teach students with natural hair about its origins and why they should have pride in it instead of making students feel like how they naturally are isn’t good enough.

SK: Describe your hair in one word

Kerdisha: Pride- I have a lot of pride in my hair, to me it speaks volumes about who I am as an individual.

SK: Anything extraordinary you want to try with your hair?

Kerdisha: I would really like to shave the back of my head into some cool design and I think I will soon.

Protective styles, #haircare

Protective styles, #haircare

SK: Do you think Caribbean naturals need more support?

Kerdisha: I do think that naturalistas in the Caribbean need more groups/events for support. Although there are some events held in Caribbean countries there could be a much stronger natural hair presence as a group. In Dominica we have the facebook group Nature Isle Girls with natural hair but i think more meetups and social events can be done.

SK: Also, with so many DIY (Do It Yourself) videos on YouTube for hair products, do you think Caribbean naturals can explore our plants, flowers and oils at our disposal?

Kerdisha: I do believe that when it comes to DIY and natural hair care products, in the Caribbean we have an advantage as we have products such as aloe, coconut oil etc. growing in our own backyard and we should defiantly explore our indigenous plants for example ‘hibiscus sulfate free shampoo’, would make a great product as it can be used to cleanse natural hair.

 Thank you for shairing and good luck as you continue your hair journey!

xoxo

