Tags

, , , , , , , ,

We’re going to the Land of the Blessed in the Caribbean. Which is that? Read on to find out where this week’s naturalista is from.

Chic

Chic

SK: State your name and country of birth

Jacinth Browne from St. Vincent and the Grenadines

 SK: Age

Jacinth: 23

 SK: How long have you been natural or transitioning?

Jacinth: My last straightener was in February and my big chop was last October

 SK: Why did you decide to go natural?

Jacinth: I decided to go natural for a lot of reasons. I attempted on numerous occasions but my thick hair always scared me into straightening again. With support from a number of curl friends I mustered up the courage to finally follow through! I wanted to because it was cheaper to maintain natural hair, I missed my original texture though it was really thick and hard to deal with, I had an irrational fear that one day all my straightened hair would fall out and just out of mere curiosity. The day my eleven year old self finished her perm was a day of uncertainty. I was thrilled for a week then I wanted my fluffy mane back!! And I never since then stopped wondering what it would be like if I had never straightened to begin with. 

Big chop first view.

Big chop first view.

 SK: Why did you choose to big chop or transition?

Jacinth: I actually intended to transition all the way through but I was losing patience with my two textured hair. I had an obsessive addiction with randomly trimming the hair with some delusional hope that it contributed to my progress. However one day a friend of mine who was at my house just said in exasperation “Jaci come let me cut off those ends! You look like a homeless, abandoned orphan.” The hair had become extremely irregular in length. Yet I was terrified at the idea because never in my life have I had short hair, even now I miss having long hair a whole lot and I look forward to the growth the future has for me but after running off a few times I finally let her cut them off and she did a fantastic job. Then the coping process began but I wasn’t traumatised as I expected to be.

(SK: I thought it was going to get violent after the orphan comment, but we know our friends, don’t we?! Lol)

SK: How easy or difficult was it in the beginning stages when you chopped or started your transition?

Protective styling

Protective styling

Jacinth: I put braids in soon after because I couldn’t quite handle the big head syndrome. It was also a struggle to pass a comb through my hair after the ease I had grown used to after eleven years. I think I had so much fun with the process that in spite of occasional despair over length that it was actually not that hard. I honestly thought I would be depressed until it grew again but I have never once regretted my decision. (SK: Hear that readers? Yes the struggle is real but it gets real easy too. 😉 )

 SK: What is your hair regimen?

Jacinth: I mostly twist with Curl La La, seal with castor and olive oil and apply some grease to the scalp. I normally have to do this when damp, soon after a wash because dried loose hair is usually a nightmare for me. When I do washes I usually use Cantu products to shampoo, apply a conditioner, the deep masque for a bit and then rinse entirely. Although these are the easiest methods I’ve found to follow I’m always open to trying new things that will work.

 SK: Name your favourite products

Jacinth: My favourite products are Blue Magic Indian Hemp, Cantu Deep Treatment Masque, Anything Argon Oil, Jamaican Black Castor Oil and Aunty Jackie’s Curl La La

SK: How easy or difficult is it sourcing products that you love to use on your hair where you live or reside?

Progress

Progress

Products are very easy to source here. They are muchhh cheaper in the U.S., however at home in St. Vincent just a bit more expensive but I usually have no trouble. I would really like to find an effective cream moisturiser though.

SK: Favourite style

Jacinth: Twist outs and frohawks!! Thought I would be bored of them by now but love them!

(SK: I am a firm believer in if it ain’t broke lol )

SK: Tell me about a great hair day or a bad hair day in short, or about a liked or frustrating feature about your hair.

Jacinth: The most frustrating thing about my hair is the volume. However that is also the most loved quality for me. It takes me hours to finish twisting it because there is a lot of hair to go through, although it is yet short. Almost every hairdresser I’ve gone to points out how thick my hair is and how little they anticipated it. I am still very proud of it though I have to sacrifice at least one night a month to get it done.

SK: Do you have any hair crushes?

Jacinth: Yes a few friends of mine such as Ranique Parris Horne, Naria Lord and Charlee Gittens. As well as singer Alicia Keys. And breakout star from The Voice India Carney.

SK: What would you say to employers and teachers out there who think that natural hair is not for the office or the classroom, respectively?

Jacinth: It’s called natural because it is ours. We were born with it. It does not lie down, it does not sit under the restraints of colonialism because it is symbolic of the liberty of our spirits; the spirit of Africa which has long been enslaved in the Western World. The spirit which presents the choice.

As an Educator in training myself, I’ve noted that critical thinking is slowly emerging in the educational system as a priority and a large part of encouraging that thinking is by allowing self-love and self-expression so that one may value self-thought. If one desires to use a straightener they should be allowed to exercise preference, the same goes for those who want to retain their natural hair. Diversity should be appreciated in places of learning and work where most of our lives are spent and should be spent comfortably. (SK: *claps*)

SK: Describe your hair in one word, and why?

Jacinth: Chameleon – I’m slowly becoming aware of the variety of things which can be done with my natural hair and I love it especially because of its naturally brown tinge. It changes shade depending on the light I’m in however and I think that’s unique. Although it is incredibly thick and it has been responding well to hair products and coping in situations such as up-dos better than I initially expected. It is highly versatile I just hope that I develop the creativity to take advantage of it. 

Happy naturalista

Happy naturalista

SK: Finally, name something outrageous or edgy or just different you would love to try with your hair but have not had the guts to try YET!

Jacinth: I would love to dye my entire head blonde it’s something I doubt I would be brave enough to do just because it can’t be undone but I’ve had blonde braids on numerous occasions and absolutely enjoy it.

Thank you Jacinth for shairing. Best wishes as you continue on your hair journey. Readers can you recommend a creamy moisturiser?

Ciao

xoxo

