Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Professional, kind-hearted and toned, three words which can describe this naturalista with locs, but they in no way sum her up.

Gorgeous

Gorgeous

Hailing from Barbados is 28 year old Astrid.

But who is Astrid?

Astrid: Here goes…so awkward to talk bout my self. A young dentist working continuously to improve the oral health of the society providing the best quality care to those who come under my care. A girl with an heart of gold who enjoys regularly attending  the gym to get that toned lean body. lol.

So let’s hear how she manages her natural hair in and out of the gym 🙂

Talk about growth, my word!

Talk about growth, my word!

SpecialKinks (SK): How long have you been natural?

Astrid: I have been natural from 2005 so that would make this going on 10 years.

SK: Why did you decide to go natural?

Astrid: Natural was the next option after having damaged chemically treated hair plus I was embarking on a new path in life and figured this style could be better managed with the new journey (study)

SK: Why did you choose to big chop or transition?

Astrid: I transitioned using braids then I eventually wore my own hair.

SK: How easy or difficult was it in the beginning stages when you chopped or started your transition?

Astrid: It was a bit difficult having to constantly go to the stylist and also adjustment to shorter natural hair. I eventually decided locs was my ideal natural hairstyle. I wanted to try for the longest while but due to stigma and parental ideals it was put off. But I made the move in 2007 and everyone loves them now. Initial stages of locs were hard due to the short length of the hair. (SK: Unfortunately, I understand what she means, but with faux locs being accepted more, maybe natural locs will get more appreciation. Right? I can hope!)

SK: What is your hair regimen?

Astrid: My hair regimen involves going to the stylist every 3-4 weeks. Between there if needed I would wash it myself, which I absolutely hate. No daily routine, just brush and go. Occasionally I use some product for moisture. I am probably the only person with natural hair who owns such little products. (SK: *dumbfounded look* lol)

SK: Name your favourite products

Astrid: I use Design Essentials Shampoo and their hair and scalp treatment. I also use Taliah Waajid oil and locing gel. That’s it! I will look into buying coconut oil and argan oil etc, but seriously I rarely use products. (SK: *sits in complete astonishment* There really is no product junky here.)

SK: How easy or difficult is it sourcing products that you love to use on your hair where you live or reside?

Bob style - Astrid's luv

Bob style – Astrid’s luv

Astrid: I usually have no issue sourcing the products in my local beauty supply stores.

SK: Do you have a favourite style?

Astrid: I love so many…but any style that creates a bob. my stylist gave me a style which looped the locs into a lob…was awesome!! (SK: Oh! So products she does not go nuts about, but styles… *whew* lol)

SK: Tell me about a great hair day or a bad hair day in short, or about a liked or frustrating feature about your hair.

Astrid: A good hair day would be any day within the first week of getting my hair styled.

A bad hair day would be 2 weeks after styling.  Or due to not relocing in weeks, when there is a mini afro growing at the base of my locs, that too. lol. It is as though I have two natural hairstyles in one…afro and locs. (SK: As one transitioning in braids, I truly understand the mini afro of new growth at the base, fo sho! lol)

My hair can be frustrating because it can take more than an hour to dry. Sitting under a hooded dryer is evil! Also because I palm roll my locs they become loose quite quickly so they have that fuzzy effect quickly. (SK: Girl you aint lie about the hooded dryer. God bless my T-shirt! lol)

SK: Do you have any hair crushes?

Astrid: No hair crushes

SK: What would you say to employers and teachers out there who think that natural hair is not for the office or the classroom, respectively?

Did I mention she's a dentist?

Did I mention she’s a dentist?

Astrid: Natural hair can be worn in an academic or professional setting once displayed tidily as I would expect with any other type of hairstyle e.g. weave. Our hair doesn’t define us or our ability but I think with locs specifically a lot more ground has to be made with respect to its negative stereotype. At the end of the day we have to be conscious of how we wear our hair the same we dress appropriately based on the occasion.

SK: Can you describe your hair simply?

Astrid: My hair helps to define my physical beauty.

SK: Name something outrageous or edgy or just different you would love to try with your hair but have not had the guts to try YET!

Astrid: I have been trying to find a colour to dye all my locs that isn’t outrageous and still accepted in the medical profession. I am leaning towards a copper sunset but haven’t decided just yet.

SK: And don’t think I missed this prime opportunity to find out about locs and the gym.

Toned body, no lie

Toned body, no lie

Locs and Gym Routine

Astrid: Gym doesn’t affect my styles but I prefer anything not pinned up as then it can obstruct certain exercises.

SK: Which exercises?

Astrid: Well, anything where you have to lie flat. For example when doing chest. Pinned up causes the obstruction.

SK: So how do you wear them?

Astrid: If I have them in a ponytail I would wrap the ends high up on my head, or leave it hanging again depending on what I am doing. I don’t usually use a head-tie.

SK: Does gym work make washing more often a must?

Astrid: I usually do my hair every two weeks. Even if I don’t get to the salon I wash it myself. Truthfully this ish takes so long to dry that I don’t have time to wash it more frequently. (SK: And we both laughed OUT LOUDDD at that huge chunk of truth there at the end!)

Thank you Astrid. And to all those who fear the dentist, I can vouch for this one in Barbados, working at Warrens Dental Services.

Ciao!

