Tags

, , , , , ,

Guess what, guess what, guess what!

You’re taking too long to guess so let my impatient self tell you what! I found another DIAMOND! This naturalista has been natural her whole life. Yup! Hair’s another one.

Makeup by Liezel Artistrii

Makeup by Liezel Artistrii Photo credit: HimalReece

I met her years ago when I was in my first year of University in Barbados. As a Demonstrator/Tutor, she was patient, kind, considerate, super attentive and all around great. Nicole is one of those people who just has a great spirit.

Now let’s hear about her regimen, because taking care of natural hair is no longer just grease, cornrows on Sundays, twists in the vacation and any thick conditioner.

So let’s welcome Nicole to Special Kinks *loud round of applause* (I love my readers lol)

SpecialKinks (SK): State your name and country of birth.

Nicole: Nicole Atherley, Barbados

By passing the age question breezily it was funny when we asked, so how long have you been natural or transitioning?

Nicole: All my life…..but I won’t say exactly how long that is! Shhhh. (SK: lol) 

SK: Why did you decide to go natural?

Nicole:The Question could rather be “Why did I decide to stay natural”.  (SK: Of course lol) I prefer it. The idea of processing my hair prevents me from proudly saying, “yes, this is my hair’, whenever people ask. I also think my hair will break if I put any such chemicals in it! (SK: I kind of understand this though my hair was texturised and relaxed. Whenever people complimented my hair, it always seemed to be after newly done and I always felt like, is the compliment really for my hair or for my hair taking the chemicals well.)

SK: What is your hair regimen?

Nicole: I must admit that I do not take the best care of my hair. These days though, I have been cowashing, and to moisturize, I spritz my hair and leave that in for a few minutes. I then seal with coconut oil or castor oil. I do not mind the smell at all.

SK: Name your favourite products.

Nicole: The more natural the better! So I use pure coconut oil, castor oil, avocado oil. I also use Shea Moisture Shampoo and conditioner

SK: How easy or difficult is it sourcing products that you love to use on your hair where you live or reside?

Makeup by Liezel Artistrii

Makeup by Liezel Artistrii Photo credit: HimalReece

Nicole: I don’t have a problem! Well….the price though (SK: Preach about the price. lol However, somethings are becoming more reasonable with competition thankfully. God is good!)

SK: Favourite style?

Nicole: Twists!! That is my go to style….easy to do, easy to freshen up once I have the time.

SK: Tell me about a great hair day or a bad hair day in short, or about a liked or frustrating feature about your hair.

Nicole: Most of my hair days are bad hair days!! My hair gets fuzzy really quickly…sigh. (SK: There there! I can relate, but I am working on embracing my fuzz, so maybe you should too chica. Life would be full of good days then.)

SK: What would you say to employers and teachers out there who think that natural hair is not for the office or the classroom, respectively?

Nicole: I most definitely do not agree! However, there is a time and a place for everything. Not every style of clothing is appropriate for every event and setting. Likewise, not every hairstyle is appropriate either. (SK: True!)

SK: Describe your hair in one word, and why?

Nicole: Fuzz bucket. Go figure! (SK: lolol … And Fraggle Rock – the cartoon came to mind instantly lol

SK: Name something outrageous or edgy or just different you would love to try with your hair but have not had the guts to try YET!  

Nicole: I have thought of cutting it really low, keeping it like that for a bit, then growing again. But I can’t! I love my long hair! (SK: Guess the tapered trend won’t be making a stop here lol)

Gorgeous!

Gorgeous! Photo credit: HimalReece

Thank you so very much for shairing Nic! Best wishes in all your endeavours.

Stay blessed 🙂

Stay blesse

