Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

If you aren’t retaining moisture in your hair, you aren’t retaining length and health; so what are you doing?! Get on top of this moisture situation and pronto please. That’s right, attend to your crown of curls now. Not for my sake, but for the sake of your hair.

I am a firm believer in the L.O.C. method. If you are natural or transitioning to natural hair and have never heard of the L.O.C or L.C.O (or even the L.O.C.O) method then you have skipped a vital step in successfully caring for your hair. You have failed to research!

Your hair journey calls for you to research and not simply products, but techniques, because as I always say, technique is crucial!

Now the L.O.C or L.C.O method

L – Liquid             L – Liquid

O – Oils               C – Cream

C – Cream           O – Oils

Liquids 

#KCKT

#KCKT

Many people use water or a water-based leave-in conditioner first and this puts moisture into the strands. I use Kinky Curly Knot Today. I like this product a lot because it moisturises my tresses and detangles at the same time. But I must confess, my new Lotta Body Moisturise Me, Curl & Style Milk is making a big impression on my hair too. Hmmm…lol Anyways, first I spritz with water then I add the leave-in. Let’s face it, WATER IS AND ALWAYS WILL BE THE BEST MOISTURISER FOR OUR HAIR!

Penetrating Oils 

I'm in love with the scissors ✂

I’m in love with the scissors ✂

The best oils for moisturising are those that soak into the strands or are absorbed into the strands. We all know that oil and water don’t mix but these few oils according to research have been known to not just sit on top of the hair shaft like a barrier or film.

Some of the best penetrating oils are:

Coconut oil

Olive oil

Avocado oil

But I also use Grapeseed oil and I know others who use Castor oil and JBCO (Jamaican Black Castor Oil).

Creams

A good butter-based, creamy moisturiser acts as the sealant for this entire process. Makes no sense putting all that moisture and let’s not lie, all those expensive products in your hair to waste them. You must end this method by sealing in the moisture. 300

I use Elasta QP Olive Oil and Mango Butter as my sealer. I know some naturals like to use Shea Moisture Curl Enhancing Smoothie or their own DIY shea butter or mango butter mixes as well amongst others.

Conclusion

As we all know this natural hair journey is one of trial and error and listening to your strands. So where some with kinkier coils may seal with JBCO and those with finer strands may seal with Grapeseed oil, others may not. And those who prefer to add oils last as their sealants, use the L.C.O instead of L.O.C. but again, it is all according to what you and more importantly, what your hair prefers!

At the end of the day, just know that the secret to moisture retention by way of these two methods is the LAYERING of products!

Ciao!

