Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

I told you guys that it’s Crop Over season in Barbados and if you didn’t know, well the last lap weekend gets kick started with the “midnight” Foreday Morning Jam through the streets of The City onto Spring Garden Highway and concluding at Brandons Beach with breakfast at sunrise.

That was how my last Friday night into Saturday morning was setup.

Hair-wise, I told you all that I will be rocking crotchet braids done with Marley braid throughout the season and it is still intact.

Crotchet braids bunned for Foreday Morning

Crotchet braids bunned for Foreday Morning

I bunned my hair to reduce the amount of strands exposed to the paint and mud which were being sprayed through the air and smeared on myself as well as hundreds of others. I jumped in Soca Chippers. It was a blast as usual!

Foreday Morning is Barbados’s version of j’ouvert. However, over the years even Foreday morning that originally and traditionally was about old clothes, rags and dirty old sneakers is now more glamourised as T-shirts are cut up in elaborate designs, some females wear “costumes” that are more bikini and monokini or leotard-style and guys even get tanks. Typing this I understand now why some other islanders think our festival is more “stush” or “less organic”. Oh well, it’s ours and it meshes with us as a people. It is our culture.

Mud and paint

Mud and paint

We like to look our best even in mud and paint. Just ask the girls who wore make up and shower caps to Foreday Morning Jam.

My hair got some paint in it but it’s water based and a wet Denman brush solved that small issue easily. I could have co-washed my crotchet braids but the how the rest of my weekend of fun and frolic was set-up, cleansing my hair before Monday evening would have been a sure sign of insanity! lol

#paint in hair

#paint in hair

So that said, if you plan to go to paintball or have a food fight or attend j’ouvert or my island’s Foreday Morning Jam in the future, and your hair is in a protective style or you just want to reduce how colourful and dirty your strands get, bun your hair – tuck under your ends, add a cute scarf or even a head band too. Cover as much hair as possible.

