Tags

, ,

Welcome Dominica’s Joanne Guiste!

That name may mean nothing to you, or you may actually know her lots better by her online persona ‘MumNatural’!

collage.jpg

 

That’s right, we got MumNatural to sHAIR with us!

 

So we kicked off the session finding out about the natural hair scene in Dominica right now!

SpecialKinks (SK): Do you find that in Dominica natural hair is being accepted more?

MumNatural: Ohhhhh yesssss… More and more there are so many young ladies going back natural and so many people accepting of it.  Even in the financial institutions and other business you see employees sporting their natural hair.  With the amount of naturals we have now I think it had created an avenue of encouragement for others who want to take on the journey

Well let’s get into how you returned natural, why you went back and what your hair is loving right now! 🙂 

IMAG1484.jpg

SK: How long have you been natural or transitioning?

MumNatural: I have been natural for a year now.

SK: Why did you decide to go natural?

MumNatural: For the health of my scalp and for healthier hair

SK: Plagued with scalp problems even experiencing pain, MumNatural confirmed that going natural helped tremendously.

MumNatural: Very much so… I felt the pain only for about the first month after my chop, following which I have not had the pain and the shedding is almost nonexistent, although you would expect that with the toughness of natural hair the shedding would be more. (Nothing surprises us with natural hair much to be honest. It’s so baffling most days!)

SK: Why did you choose to big chop?

MumNatural: I big chopped because the transitioning process seemed to have been too long and the two textures proved very frustrating and only made the pressure on my scalp worse than it already was. (To each his or her own. I’m glad BC worked for you.)

SK: How easy or difficult was it in the beginning stages when you chopped?

MumNatural: I surprisingly found it very manageable when I big chopped. I absolutely loved the short hair and preparation time in the morning was cut significantly so that was fun. (SK: That ain’t no lie, short hair equal wash hours, forget a wash day! Lol)

IMAG1355.jpgSK: What is your hair regimen?

MumNatural: I do a full shampoo every two weeks. I do a hot oil treatment the second week of the month and a deep condition the final week. (SK: That’s a routine, if I heard one! Let me take notes) I do a weekly co-wash and one during the week where needed. I use my DIY shea butter cream along with my oil/water mix or leave-in for my nightly sealing. I do my best to sleep with my satin scarf at nights. (SK: Giiiiirl, we all try. lol) I do protective styles but they never last beyond three to four days because my hand always has to be in my hair LOL (SK: Here I thought three to four weeks was bad lololol) I have this hand-in-hair syndrome worse than anyone I know, working on it. (SK: Good luck!)

SK: Name your favourite products

MumNatural: Castor Oil is my holy grail along with coconut oil and my DIY shea butter cream. I trust and use the Palmer’s olive oil line of products, which provides everything I need for my hair. (SK: It’s great when you find what works for your tresses.)

To grease or not to grease, that is the question?

SK: I know for a fact that you are one naturalista who does not run away from petroleum, does that impact your washing and cleansing routine? Do you find that you ever need to wash your hair with shampoo more often?

MumNatural: Actually no.  I only do a full shampoo wash every two weeks.  I do a co-wash every week and dependent on the needs of my hair I may do one during the week as well.

SK: How easy or difficult is it sourcing products that you love to use on your hair in Dominica?

MumNatural: I have to order most of the Palmer’s products, but it has not been difficult to source.

IMAG1328-2.jpgSK: Favourite style.

MumNatural: Twists

SK: Tell me about a great hair day and something you like about your hair. MumNatural: A great hair day was my first try at a rod set. I did an updo with some rods to the front and that day I felt like ‘yessss, my hair can be so much more than I know it to be, and with some time and patience it can be awesome’. I love that my hair is very thick because it gives much volume to my styles, which I love! (SK: With a love for castor oil, that your hair is thick is no surprise lol)

SK: Do you have any hair crushes?

MumNatural: I would have to say Whitney White (Naptural85). Her hair is just so thick and long and gives me life lol (SK: This is how many of us naturalistas feel about Nap85! You are not alone.)

SK: Describe your hair in one word, and why?

MumNatural: My Treasure… because it took work and sacrifice to get to where it is and in the end the work was worth it

SK: Name something outrageous or edgy or just different you would love to try with your hair but have not had the guts to try YET!

MumNatural: Loc and colour … afraid of permanent (SK: Your fear is understood!)

Climate Change and Hair

SK: Did Tropical Storm Erika wreck havoc on your hair?

MumNatural: I was not affected at all.  My hair, however, suffered a bit because I went two weeks not being able to do a wash because of the water outage, but when it came back on my hair was in heaven. (SK: When the taps flowed she must have heard the Hallelujah chorus lol)

IMAG1606.jpg

Natural Hair and Marriage

Whenever we come across a naturalista who is blissfully married and a new natural especially, we just can’t pass up the opportunity to hear how her partner is responding to the hair change.

SK: What was your husband’s response to your natural hair?

MumNatural: My husband has indeed responded very positively to my natural hair.  He actually helps in the process and is always willing to give me my scalp massages when I need them and he does a great job at it ..LOL (SK: #winning)

Find her online:

IG:@mumnatural
Twitter:@mumnatural
Facebook: www.facebook.com/mumnatural
Blog: www.mumnatural.WordPress.com

It was a pleasure conducting this interview.

Ciao!

