Tags

, , , , , , ,

Good Morning,

It is a wonderful God-given morning and I am hopping mad.

I am running an hour behind on my wash day plan.

And why you may ask? Well ask or not, I am going to tell you.

Dear Carol’s Daughter,

DSC_8676.JPG

Thank you for not lying to me. The label reads No Parabens. No petroleum. NO mineral oil. No artificial colours.

It did not say ‘No sulphates’. DSC_8681.JPG

However, in the shampoo description it says sulfate-free cleanser.

Now that is where their definition and mine differs.

If it starts with sulf- and ends in -ate, guess what I believe it to be? A darn SULFATE! I don’t care what pretty word lies in between “sulf-___-ate”!

This cleanser is not sulfate free. Or as another blogger termed it, it is full of sulfakes!

Sincerely

Annoyed

For those who do not know what are some of the sulfakes. Here are some:

  1. Sodium Laureth Sulfate
  2. Sodium Lauryl Sulfoacetate
  3. Sodium Lauroyl Isoethionate
  4. Sodium Lauroyl Taurate
  5. Sodium Cocoyl Isoethionate
  6. Sodium Lauroyl Methyl Isoethionate
  7. Sodium Lauroyl Sarcosinate
  8. Disodium Laureth Sulfosuccinate

Now needless to say, I am darn glad that 1) I can read; 2) I read the ingredients; 3)I do my research and; 4) I am using a sample kit.

DSC_8678.JPG

If I had purchased this product and could not return it now, oh I would be another kind of livid.

Now let me clear the air. I am not against sulphates. Sulfates and sulfakes give you a true cleanse, it’s only really in HIGH concentrations that they do damage. So once in a while shouldn’t harm you.

But what I took issue with is, I don’t like wolves in sheep clothing. I like to know what I am dealing with UP FRONT!

I was trying to be free of the harmful chemicals I can be free of, and since sulphates are one, I was avoiding those too.

So now this product will sit on the shelf until I want to blow dry or flat iron my hair. That day I will be using heat, so I may as well throw in sulphates and call it a “vacay day from au naturale” which I pray does not set me back in anyway in terms of my hair goals.

Sigh!

That’s the end of my rant and attempt to educate simultaneously. Sorry guys, and don’t be fooled by the natural hair industry!

Now I will go wash my hair with my DevaCurl. My hair has grown over the last two months while in crotchet braids, so I’m praying that my tresses still love this 100% sulfate, Paraben, Silicon Free product line! 🙂

IMG_20160129_201353.jpg

Ciao!

 

