Tags

, , , , , , ,

Home of the Trinbago Knight Riders T20 cricket team, the scarlet ibis, the steel pan and home to one of the World’s greatest Carnivals, Trinidad and Tobago is also the birthplace of this next naturalista.

Hailing from The Land of the Hummingbird is Gabrielle ‘Gabby’ Issac!

11755331_1620337478251294_1026615204129617696_n

What drew Gabby to our attention besides her curls?

Well…she had the flu and posted that her boyfriend did her twists…that really piqued interest.

Laughing, Gabby said on that occasion, “He was all for it because he loves when women embrace their natural hair textures, And I just asked him to twist  it and he said yes Lol which surprised me a bit but was a good surprise.”

So we asked her, what he thinks about guys who don’t like their girlfriends’ big chop or call it ugly and make negative comments?

And she said: They are dumb and are blinded by the European standard of beauty i.e straight hair. Instead of putting down their women, they should support them for making the decision to say ‘no’ to society’s normz and embrace their natural textures.

So with such an interesting introduction, we had to interview Gabby to get her full hairstory.

Now let’s check out this 21-year old’s regimen and style!

Special Kinks (SK): How long have you been natural or transitioning?

Gabby: I have been natural for a year and 2 months

SK: Why did you decide to go natural? 12109301_1634418036807239_4838853244038727268_n

Gabby: I got fed up of the relaxer thinning out my hair and to top it off my hairdresser at the time burnt off a patch of my hair. (SK: I wonder if she is still alive?!)

SK: Why did you choose to big chop or transition?

Gabby: I chose to transition and then big chop because I was not accustomed to seeing myself with short hair, so I wanted a bit of length before I chopped all my hair off lol (SK: I completely understand.)

SK: How easy or difficult was it in the beginning stages when you chopped or started your transition?

Gabby: In the beginning stages it was a breeze dealing with the two textures, head bands and messy buns were my best friend.

Now I’m at the not cooperating stage. At the moment this is the stage where my hair is too short to do a classic pulled up one, but too long to do cute short styles eg. puffs. My puffs are too huge now Lol and she [my hair] just does not want to be tamed so I let her be free, no woogies, no combs, no hair bands nothing just free and froing lol.

SK: You had a setback and did a second BC, how did that come about?

Gabby: Now I’m a year past my second chop in July  I am very pleased with how my hair has progressed. When I first big chopped I dyed my hair, and that was a big mistake, but with the colored ends off my hair is thriving better than ever.

SK: What is your hair regimen?

Gabby: I don’t really have one but I deep condition weekly and finger detangle ALWAYS.

SK: Name your favourite products

Gabby: My favourite products are Shea Butter and Jamaican Black Castor Oil (JBCO)

SK: How easy or difficult is it sourcing products that you love to use on your hair where you live or reside?

Gabby: It is very easy for me because everything can be found where i live.

SK: Favourite style

887384_1655816831370025_1870707175741162689_oGabby: My favourite hairstyle is two strand twists.

SK: Tell me about a great hair day or a bad hair day in short, or about a liked or frustrating feature about your hair.

 

Gabby: A good hair day is when I get bomb wash n’ go results, it’s the day the curl defining Gods smile down on me and keep my curls popping

SK: Do you have any hair crushes?

Gabby: My hair crush is Erykah Badu. I can’t wait for my hair to be as frotatstic as hers.

SK: What would you say to employers and teachers out there who think that natural hair is not for the office or the classroom, respectively?

Gabby: I would say to all, God makes no mistakes, so therefore if he made me with my hair like this it is for a reason and who are you to say that my hair is not for the office or school?

SK: Describe your hair in one word, and why?

Gabby: My hair is a lioness. She does what she wants, when she wants and is not afraid to show me who’s in charge lol

SK: Name something outrageous or edgy or just different you would love to try with your hair but have not had the guts to try YET!

Gabby: I would love to take a tapered cut, it is so edgy.

But beyond her own, Gabby has some big plans too!

SK: Congrats on the decision to start Cosmetology School despite people’s opinions, what spurred it on and are you excited to start?

Gabby: Well originally before I did my Performing Arts degree I wanted to go to Cosmetology School, but was met with a lot of negativity from mainly family members. Now as I am 21 and have reached the age where I don’t care about what people think, I chose to start what I am most passionate about, and of course, I am excited can’t wait to start.

10931589_10155143511250187_4449793539421351399_o

Happy growing!

Ciao

