Tags

, , , , , ,

Some people don’t know what motivated them to go back natural, but that’s not the case with this naturalista.

Gather your combs and brushes, bang them together without breaking them and give a loud welcome to…Davina.

Davina Bday May 2014

SK: What country are you from?

Davina: Barbados

SK: Describe your hair in one word, and why?

Davina: Curlyrrific – Curly and terrific. Perfect for me.

SK: How long have you been natural or transitioning? Natural for almost 5yrs

Davina: Natural for almost 5yrs

SK: Why did you decide to go natural? Allergies led to a lifestyle change away from the harmful ingredients found in body care and cosmetics which led to a change away from relaxers also

Davina: Allergies led to a lifestyle change away from the harmful ingredients found in body care and cosmetics which led to a change away from relaxers also

SK: Why did you choose to big chop or transition?

Davina: For me the big chop was easier as I couldn’t imagine dealing with the look and feel of the two textures on my head

SK: How easy or difficult was it in the beginning stages when you chopped or started your transition? It was a bit hard emotionally at first not having hair as I’ve always had fairly long hair…seeing myself like this was hard going at first

Davina: It was a bit hard emotionally at first not having hair as I’ve always had fairly long hair…seeing myself like this was hard going at first Davina Dec 2014

SK: What is your hair regimen? Every two weeks I get my hair washed and twisted and I’d pretty much wear a twist out until I repeat the process. Occasionally I may keep the twists in for the full two weeks or do one week of twists and one week of a twist out

Davina: Every two weeks I get my hair washed and twisted and I’d pretty much wear a twist out until I repeat the process. Occasionally I may keep the twists in for the full two weeks or do one week of twists and one week of a twist out What is your favourite oil? Coconut and sweet almond oil come in joint first

SK: What is your favourite oil?

Davina: Coconut and sweet almond oil come in joint first (SK: I thought I was alone in this department…my hair loves Almond!!!) Name your favourite products Kinky Curly

SK: Name your favourite products Kinky Curly

Davina: Kinky Curly curling custard and Shea Moisture African Black soap shampoo and Raw Shea Butter shampoo and conditioner

SK: How easy or difficult is it sourcing products that you love to use on your hair where you live or reside?

Davina: For me it is not difficult at all.

SK: Favourite style

Davina: Well I can’t say that I have a favourite really I guess I wear twist outs most often but for me it is important not to have boring natural hair. So I cut off all my hair in 2014 and am now growing it back out but am doing so via different styles, so I recently had it cut in a bob.

So no particular favourite style per se but I did loveee my hair in the Mohawk cut.

 

SK: Do you do protective styles? If yes, why and what’s your favourite? If no, why not?

Davina: Mostly when I’ve cut my hair and am growing it back out. Recently I’ve mostly done the kanekelon / Senegalese twists

SK: Tell me about a great hair day or a bad hair day in short, or about a liked or frustrating feature about your hair.

Davina: I love that my hair is generally pretty cooperative. I know persons that say they have nightmares with their hair but thankfully my hair mostly does what it is supposed to.

SK: How do you detangle? (comb, fingers, Denman brush, water only, etc)

Davina: My hair is detangled with a comb and conditioner in

SK: What would you say to employers and teachers out there who think that natural hair is not for the office or the classroom, respectively?

Davina: All hair can be styled appropriately so natural hair can be very professional. I’d tell them to emancipate themselves from mental slavery. I work in an office and even when I had my Mohawk it was done tastefully.

Davina May 2015

 

SK: Name something outrageous or edgy or just different you would love to try with your hair but have not had the guts to try YET!

Davina: I’d love to try different dyes. I’m actually allergic to the PPD found in hair colour but would absolutely love to colour my hair ever so often but haven’t had the opportunity to try other alternatives as yet (well except the spray colour).

SK: Happy growing and thank you for sharing with the Special Kinks family! 🙂

 

