Tags

, , , ,

Hey Readers,

Let’s welcome another naturalista from the twin island Republic of Trinidad and Tobago.

Meet Trinbagonian Marcia Campbell

13728516_645669782253219_1797030304_o

This 32-year old was very interested in sharing her story and quickly responded to the call when asked.

So what led us to reach out to Marcia in the first place?

Well, she was rocking locs and a shaved side, and in a world where many work hard to fit in, she really stood out. Here’s what we learnt.

Special Kinks (SK): Why did you shave the left side of your head and what kind of responses did you get?

Marcia: December 12th this year, 2016, will be 3 years I shaved the left side. It was an impulse moment when I decided to shave it. Needed a little edge and I achieved that. Everyone thought I was crazy but it grew on them. I shave for myself and mark. I also twist my locs for myself…from the very beginning. I love the edgy look. 13699353_645669812253216_1777203598_o

SK: With an introduction like that we definitely had to get her full hair story, because I mean who shaves and mark themselves?! hip hip hooray to her!

SK: How long have you been natural or transitioning?

Marcia: Have been a naturalist since 2007 with short hair…then grew my locs in 2010

SK: Why did you decide to go natural?

Marcia: It some how felt easier, more my style

SK: Why did you choose to big chop or transition?

Marcia: Relaxing and styling became a nuisance and I was truly fed up of the chemical hair

SK: How easy or difficult was it in the beginning stages when you chopped or started your transition?

Marcia: Surprisingly very easy to maintain it was as though my hair was telling me this is the way it was meant to be. I big chopped.

13713357_645669768919887_1771890502_n

SK: What is your hair regimen?

Marcia: For me nothing is routine really. How I feel is how I treat my hair…except maybe moisturizing. I don’t even wash my hair every 1-2 weeks sometimes it’s 2-3 weeks. All depends on my hair.

SK: What is your favourite oil?

Marcia: For my hair I use all the oils I can find…argan,avocado,carrot,tea tree,castor,jojoba and mix them all together

SK: How easy or difficult is it sourcing products that you love to use on your hair where you live or reside?

Marcia: It’s not hard for me because I don’t require any particular brand of product. Once I have those oils my hair is happy 13717923_645670932253104_736150411_o

SK: Tell me about a great hair day or a bad hair day in short, or about a liked or frustrating feature about your hair.

Marcia: Well my great hair days are when it’s oiled and looks real shiny and extremely healthy. Bad hair days are the opposite – messy and needing a natural black hair color.

Umm…frustrating features? None that I can see….well without the oils my hair will be dry but other than that nothing.

SK: What would you say to employers and teachers out there who think that natural hair is not for the office or the classroom, respectively?

Marcia: I would say acceptance is key to appreciate and understand one’s self whether kinks or just natural roots, ’cause your hairstyle doesn’t define your entirety. People earn degrees and scholarships and jobs, not their hairstyle. (*SK gives a big round of applause*)

SK: Describe your hair in one word, and why?

Marcia: My hair is my crown but just let me be clear it does not define me. I am not my hair, it can easily be chopped in de morning. (SK: Amen)

SK: Name something else outrageous or edgy or just different you would love to try with your hair but have not had the guts to try YET!

Marcia: Well I have been sporting a shaved left side hairstyle for 2 years now. So locs on my right shaved on my left..lol…very edgy even for me. I challenged myself to step away from my comfort zone. I love it. Everyone thought I was going off but it eventually grew on them…..I’ll rock it this way for a little while longer, because now contemplating to transition back to my short hair. 🙂

13714436_645669792253218_1502522470_n

Thank you Marcia for sharing with us, can’t wait to see what you do next!

Ciao!

 

