Today we travel to the Far East. If you’ve reached China in your mind, then you’ve gone too far. Lol

Meet Quinta Kasanngali or Quinn for short! She’s Dutch, and from reading her hairstory you’ll see she really knows her hair. Something that I can’t wait to fully achieve.

Quinta

Quinn: Hi, my name is Quinn and I was born in The Netherlands, Amsterdam,

Special Kinks (SK): How old are you?

Quinn: 27 summers

SK: How long have you been natural or transitioning?

Quinn: I have been natural for almost 4 years I think

SK: Why did you decide to go natural?

Quin 2013

2013

 

Quinn: I was tired of how my hair felt after putting dye in it and using the flat iron

SK: Why did you choose to big chop or transition?

Quinn: I never had the balls to do a big chop but luckily my hair wasn’t that bad to actually [have to] big chop. I transitioned because only my ends were straight and I cut those off and my curls popped back again. (SK: Lucky lucky :P)

SK: How easy or difficult was it in the beginning stages when you chopped or started your transition?

Quinn: In the beginning it was actually difficult since my hair wasn’t long anymore. But I had to choose having long and unhealthy hair or having shorter but healthy hair. (SK: Ain’t that the truth… I think even some naturals need to re-read that sentence.)

SK: What is your hair regimen?

Quinn: I wash my hair when it feels like it needs a good wash. So i learned to ‘listen’ to what my hair wants/needs. Sounds crazy but i can’t explain it other than that. I co-wash more because when using a shampoo makes my scalp dry.

Styling my hair: i have a love/hate relationship with wash ‘n go’s and I also do twistouts sometimes, if I feel like it since it takes more time.

 

Quin 2014

2014

SK: What is your favourite oil?

 

Ow, I LIVEEEEE for coconut oil but next to that I also use argan oil or olive oil.

SK: Name your favourite products

Quinn: I have a couple favorites:

Shampoo > Curls Creamy Curl Cleanser/All Shea Moisture Shampoos

Conditioner > Cantu Co-Wash

Leave-ins > Curls Blueberry Bliss Leave-in/Shea Moisture JCBO+Coconut & Hibiscus/Camille Rose Coconut Water/ Kinky Curly Knot Today

Creams > Shea Moisture Enhancing Smoothie/Camille Rose Coconut Water Style Setter

Gel > Camille Rose Curl Maker

Deep Conditioning > Shea Moisture JCBO/ Camille Rose Algae Renew

SK: How easy or difficult is it sourcing products that you love to use on your hair where you live or reside?

 

Quin 2015

2015

Quinn: In the beginning it was actually hard to find products here in Amsterdam since the whole ‘natural movement’ was sort of not here yet. Because of that, I had to order my products in the US and it actually costs me quite a lot (shipping costs and import duties). Nowadays EVERY hairshop has the Shea Moisture, Camille Rose, Cantu etc. so now it isn’t that hard to find products. The only thing is now finding products for the best price possible. (SK: That’s a great new problem to have. So happy the movement is growing…like our curls. Amen! lol)

 

SK: Favourite style

My favourite style is just my afro being all free and wild!

SK: Do you do protective styles? If yes, why and what’s your favourite? If no, why not?

Quinn: Since I have been natural I didn’t do protective styles mostly because I was all into learning about and loving my hair again. Plus, it takes too much time and I’m quite impatient but also I am really indecisive so I can love it one day but hate it the next, which results in me taking out protective styles, so I’m really saving myself and my time not doing it. (SK: To thine own self be true.)

SK: Tell me about a great hair day or a bad hair day in short, or about a liked or frustrating feature about your hair.

Quinn: I really hate the first day after wash day, my hair is clean and everything, but it is also much smaller because of shrinkage. Other than that, I really LOVE how my hair is so big and fluffy, and I don’t mind frizziness. (SK: I understand about that day after wash day and I love my frizz too. Glad I’m not alone.)

Quinn 2 puffs

SK: How do you detangle? (comb, fingers, Denman brush, water only, etc)

SK: I ALWAYS use water while detangling but have been using a lot of different tools. First I used a wide tooth comb but I noticed that I lost a lot of hair while detangling. Finger combing isn’t an option, tried it once and my arms were so sore halfway through doing my hair. I also used a Denman brush and in the beginning it was heaven but after a while the rubber started wrinkling and doing all kinds of crazy stuff. Now I use the Tangle Teezer for thick curly hair and it’s just amazing! I’m just wondering for how long will it last. (SK: lol, so true, how things go from good to no thank you anymore.)

SK: Do you have any hair crushes?

Quinn: Not really ‘crushes’ but big inspirations such as Taren Guy. She was the first person I followed. I also really like Andrea Alexander (Paging Dr. Dre @ instagram). (SK: lolol)

SK: What would you say to employers and teachers out there who think that natural hair is not for the office or the classroom, respectively?

Quinn: Why not accept how our hair grows out of our head? It is a shame how our natural state of hair is being labelled as ‘not professional’ and ‘untidy’. Our hair doesn’t define who we are. It does not define if you got a degree or not. It does not define whether you are smart or dumb. Like India Arie sang “I am not my hair, I am not my skin. I am a soul that lives within.”

There is so much more than our hair, so much potential, and if it doesn’t harm you or anything in that matter, let it be. (SK: big round of applause)

Quinn

SK: Describe your hair in one word, and why?

Quinn: Diva, because she does whatever she wants to do.

SK: Name something outrageous or edgy or just different you would love to try with your hair but have not had the guts to try YET!

Quinn: I really like bright coloured hair because I am all about standing out, but I’m not putting any chemicals in my hair so I stick to coloured hair sprays which I totally love just to switch it up! (SK: beat the system where possible… I put in couloured braids lol )

Happy growing Quinn. Thanks for shairing with us!

