Tags

, , , , , ,

Many people have been asking questions like ‘Why sister loc?’, ‘Is it a good option?’, ‘Should I sister loc?’

Well, I’m not here to convince anyone or help anyone decide against sister locs, I’m going to share Mary’s interview and as we explore this Bajan naturalista’s regimen and hairstory, you can decide if maybe this style is for you too.

Mary actually has the look of sister locs without the hassle and without the expense. Believe it or not!

Dear readers,

Meet Mary Ifill, a 29-year-old from Barbados, but who is currently in East Asia – Japan to be exact. (or at least she was at the time of this interview 🙂 )

img_6333-1

Who is Mary?

Mary: I am a uniquely flawed individual who miraculously turned out to be imperfectly perfect. I try to live a life hinged on faith and love. I believe life is for living, not just existing and that adventures await all of us.

That’s Mary in three sentences!

SK: How long have you been natural?

Mary: 4 years

SK: Why did you decide to go natural?

Mary: I was tired of having relaxers and feeling like my hair was unhealthy

SK: Why did you choose to big chop or transition?

Mary: I big chopped because I wanted a completely new start and I wanted to experience my hair in its most natural state.

SK: How easy or difficult was it in the beginning stages when you chopped or started your transition?

Mary: It was difficult in the beginning but got easier over time. It was an emotional experience because I cut my hair myself and it didn’t turn out too good. It was later corrected by a barber and I had a fade which made me feel like a boy. Over time I embraced my lack of hair and grew to love it as it continued to grow.

SK: What is your hair regimen?

Mary: Very simple; less is more. I oil my hair twice daily in the morning and night with natural oils and I shampoo and condition once a week.

SK: What is your favourite oil?

Mary: Coconut oil. It’s heaven! (SK: Guess she’s in love with the co-co lol)

SK: Name your favourite products

Mary: Coconut oil and black castor oil.

SK: How easy or difficult is it sourcing products that you love to use on your hair where you live or reside?

Mary: I currently live in Japan so I have the castor oil shipped to me but there is coconut oil in abundance here.

img_6334-1SK: Favourite style

Mary: Free flowing as I am loced

SK: Do you do protective styles?

Mary: My hair is loced that’s all the protection it needs.

SK: Tell me about a great hair day or a bad hair day in short, or about a liked or frustrating feature about your hair.

Mary: Every day is a great hair day because I get to wear what God has blessed me with.

My hair is naturally thin; I wish it were thicker.

SK: Do you have any hair crushes?

Mary: I am my own hair crush. Vain I know?! (SK: Heck no… I can’t wait to get there and stay there!)

SK: What would you say to employers and teachers out there who think that natural hair is not for the office or the classroom, respectively?

Mary: How can something that is naturally given not be acceptable, while on the other hand we accept hair that is grown on someone else’s head or made in a factory, then transferred to our head? It just makes no sense to have such a warped mind-set. (SK: slow clap)

SK: Describe your hair in one word, and why?

Mary: Fabulous – It doesn’t need frills, it’s great on its own. (SK: drops mic lolimg_6337-1

SK: Name something outrageous or edgy or just different you would love to try with your hair but have not had the guts to try YET

Mary: I’d love to try a burgundy colour in my hair EEEEK!

SK: So what type of locs do you have?

Mary: They’re traditional small locs, meaning I didn’t use the sister loc method. They were first mini twists but I took them out and backcombed them, then palm rolled each one.

SK: How long does it take or how frequently do you have to do them over?

Mary: It takes me maybe 7- 8 hours with breaks in between. There’s no real expense since I maintain my hair by myself and I use very few products.

SK: Are they expensive to maintain?

Mary: There’s no real expense since I maintain my hair by myself and I use very few products.

SK: With your locs, do you get negative comments about your hair?

Mary: I no longer get negative hair comments.

SK: What is one of the greatest lessons your natural hair has taught you?

Mary: My hair has taught me the value of patience and that sometimes things thrive the most when you just leave them alone to go through their own process.

Ciao!

img_6336-1

