Tags

, , , , , , ,

Dear Readers,

Let’s face it; being a naturalista in 2017 is getting slightly easier as many get on board with the natural hair movement but there are still some precautions that must be taken.

20170401_145256

I got highlights and lowlights in my hair recently and when I sat in the chair at the salon, I was trying to think of the healthiest thing for my hair and the best thing for my job. As weird as it seems, yes in this day and age, employment has an impact on the freedom you express through your hair.

So what did I do?

  1. Pick warm tones mainly – honey and brown hues.
  2. Dreamed of lighter blondes and asked for those in the crown and center.
  3. Left my roots untouched as I had no intentions of recolouring my hair anytime soon and I didn’t want the bleach damaging my hair so far up the shaft.
  4. I have little to no colour around the edges of my hair, so when my hair is a ponytail it is almost as my all the colour is on the ends. (Thank you to my hairstylist Gigi at Zena & Co. she understands and was right there recommending the same. She is AWESOME!)
  5. Not planning to recolour frequently, I also bought a great no poo shampoo and conditioner for coloured hair with Vitamin C to boost colour and cause no fade.

I am all about getting my money’s worth while toeing the lines that still exist in this world.

What do you find yourself not doing or doing to your hair so that you can keep your job without hassle?20170313_121400

