Tags

, , , , , ,

She’s a mother and a teacher and took the conscious decision to go natural. Welcome, Theomar Griffith of Barbados!

Special Kinks caught up with the 30-year-old and got her hairstory and regimen.

P_20161113_175307_BF_1

Special Kinks (SK): How long have you been natural or transitioning?

Theomar: Two and a half years

SK: Why did you decide to go natural?

Theomar: Many reasons… the main one was coming to the realization that my toddler was obsessed with long, straight extensions because I wore them so much. People often told me how lovely her natural hair was but I simply couldn’t convince her.

SK: So your daughter definitely factored into your decision to go natural?

Theomar: BIG time!

SK: Why did you choose to big chop or transition?

Theomar: It was my intention to transition but detangling became too time-consuming and I cut it off myself to avoid missing a hair braiding appointment.

SK: How easy or difficult was it in the beginning stages when you chopped or started your transition?

Theomar: It became the easiest thing when I discovered crochet braids. Nobody knew just how short my hair was and I could still have access my scalp.

SK: Did you colour or get heat damage at any point?

Theomar: This head of hair is currently a colour virgin but I did have some heat damage from a blowout. IMG_20150218_152700

SK: What lessons have your hair taught you?

Theomar: My hair has taught me that I inspire more people than I thought so be true to myself.

SK: What is your hair regimen?

Theomar: To be honest, I am no product junkie and I really keep it simple. Depending on how busy I am, I may wash every week or every two weeks and conditioning is essential.

SK: What is your favourite oil?

Theomar: I can’t choose. Rosemary, jojoba, cinnamon and castor oils are permanent parts of my oil mixture.

SK: Name your favourite products.

Theomar: As I said, I’m no product junkie but Kinky Curly Stellar Strands hydrating deep treatment, Biosilk Silk Therapy and Sisterlocks Moisture Treatment are great. Gorilla gel mixed with bergamot hair grease also give me a nice hold with no residue.

SK: How easy or difficult is it sourcing products that you love to use on your hair where you live or reside?

Theomar: It’s not difficult to find some of these products in the hair stores and I retail the Sisterlocks line of products.

SK: Do you have a favourite style?

Theomar: I absolutely loved finger coils when my hair was short but now I love a curl defined fro. A recent Olaplex treatment has redefined my curls.

P_20161225_145722_BF_1

SK: Do you do protective styles?

Theomar: Of course I do. Crochet braids are my favourite, Bantu twist-out to be precise. Crochet braids are excellent for tension-free, long lasting, accessible hair styling. My schedule is crazy and nothing beats the 45minute installation time. I can also easily access my scalp and I can wear a style that’s very similar to my own hair.

SK: Tell me about a great hair day or a bad hair day in short, or about a liked or frustrating feature about your hair.

Theomar: A great feature of my hair is the strength of its natural curl pattern recently. No matter the style; my hair always reverts to it.

SK: How do you detangle?

Theomar: I only detangle my hair after it has been washed and conditioner/treatment has been applied. I also use a comb with medium-wide teeth and then a small-tooth comb. YES, a small-tooth comb. I twist my hair as I detangle it and even rinse out the conditioner with the twists still in. P_20170307_170508_BF

SK: Do you have any hair crushes?

Theomar: Not really… I just love big curly hair.

SK: What would you say to employers and teachers out there who think that natural hair is not for the office or the classroom, respectively?

Theomar: I am a teacher by profession with almost a decade of experience. One thing that I have noticed is that my ability to give sound academic instruction accounts for only part of the influence that I have on students. My overall appearance and demeanor influence students and the mindset they develop. My natural hairstyle has inspired my colleagues and students to start their journey. The journey of truly loving and embracing all facets of the skin they are in. My natural hair, like the colour of my skin, speaks to who I truly am. It’s one package! I would hate to have to label anyone who attempts to re-enslave people of colour by mandating that we wear our hair like some other race. In the innovation age who has time to live in the past?!

SK: Describe your hair in one word, and why?

Theomar: My hair is “Pride”… It’s evidence of a step that I have taken to influence my daughter in a positive way. Since I returned to my natural hair, she has started to appreciate her own hair. She has embarked on a Sisterlocks journey. A choice that she has made in an effort to maintain her natural hair while eliminating combing. People stop me all the time to ask about our hair. We are both quite happy and proud.

SK: Name something outrageous or edgy or just different you would love to try with your hair but have not had the guts to try YET!

Theomar: Sisterlocks! I have had the pleasure of seeing some Sisterlocks journeys, which have enhanced self-confidence, style and the overall appearance. Most importantly the style options, hair growth and manageability are limitless. However, the installation time with my current hair length, will be quite long.

SK: Do you have any regrets since you went natural?

Theomar: The only regret is that I didn’t start sooner.

SK: With your daughter, having to deal with your own natural hair do you think it makes you more aware of what to do with hers and how to treat it?

Theomar: Of course. Before her Sisterlocks I realized that I had never spent enough time caring my natural hair in the past so managing my daughter’s became a new experience. Styling hair has always been easy for me, but true hair care techniques were something new.

PhotoGrid_1494369780140

Thank you so much Theomar for taking a minute.

Ciao!

