Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

While many talk of going back natural, Grammy-Award winner Chrisette Michele has always been natural except for that time when she tried a perm briefly. She identifies more as one who was always natural, not one who has gone back natural.

20170114_231903#2

Special Kinks caught up with the international recording artist when she was on island in Barbados earlier this year and talked a little bit about her hair.

WhatsApp Image 2017-01-10 at 2.42.53 PM

Special Kinks (SK): How long have you been natural?Natural for seven years

Chrisette: Natural for seven years, but I was natural before that. I had a relaxer for a few years since I’ve been an adult, but I’ve always been natural.

SK: What do you love most about being natural?

Chrisette: Oh my goodness, first of all, my hair does everything I ask.

SK: WHAAAAAATTTT???!!! 20170114_231857#1

Chrisette: LOL… If I do a braid out it stays, and have a cool pattern. Whatever I do it stays, that’s what I love about my hair.

SK: So what’s different about your natural hair journey this time around?Now what’s most natural about my hair is that it’s not dyed

Chrisette: Now what’s most natural about my hair is that it’s not dyed. The last time I had my hair out it was blonde and bronze, so I want to see what happens while it’s plain and in its own natural state.

20170114_231859#1

SK: What’s your regimen?So my wash routine right now…I’m really into Shea Moisture, so the Curl Enhancing Smoothie is what I use for my braid out. I have my hair wrapped in silk right now, for the beach

Chrisette: So my wash routine right now…I’m really into Shea Moisture, so the Curl Enhancing Smoothie is what I use for my braid out. I have my hair wrapped in silk right now, for the beach; so the big challenge in Barbados is to see if I can keep it in a style ever. I’ll be in the water quite a bit. Vacationing while natural without a protective style is a big challenge.

SK: How do you feel about your edges?

Chrisette: My hair is long enough now that my edges are covered. I’m a huge fan of castor oil on my edges, it definitely keeps them thick and healthy and every night before I put my silk bonnet on, I do massage castor oil into my edges.

P.S. This is 10 years since Chrisette released her ‘I Am’ album back in 2007, and still to this day, when I listen to her music I know I’ll “Be OK”.

Happy 10th Anniversary Chrisette!

 

 

