Tags

, , , ,

Hey guys!

Guess where we’re headed to this time around? It’s a group of islands. They sit close to Puerto Rico. Where do you think?

*crickets chirping*

Weeellll… welcome Jem from the US Virgin Islands! *loud applause*

image2

Jem is 31-years-old and she is here to talk hair, regimen and journey with us.

Special Kinks (SK): How long have you been natural or transitioning?

Jem: Natural 4 years

SK: Why did you decide to go natural?

Jem: I have always had thick, voluminous hair. I could never get it to grow past

right below my shoulders.

SK: Why did you choose to transition?

Jem: I transitioned for about 4-5 months while wearing weaves, and braids, then after 4-5 months I did a big chop. (SK: I still don’t know how I got past the 7-month mark.)

SK: How easy or difficult was it in the beginning stages during your transition?

Jem: The difficult parts were feeling comfortable with my hair so short and second, learning how to style my hair. My texture was so thick and course

SK: What is your hair regimen?

Jem: I wash my shampoo once a week, sometimes bi-weekly, depending on how much product build-up I have. I deep condition once a month and when styling I use the LOC method.

SK: What is your favourite oil?

Jem: Coconut and argon oil (SK: I’m now trying the argan oil)

SK: Name your favourite products

Jem: My favourite product line are: As I Am , Shea Moisture, and Giovanni

SK: How easy or difficult is it sourcing products that you love to use on your hair where you live or reside?

Jem: Very easy image1

SK: Favourite style

Jem: Braid Out/Bantu- Knot

SK: Do you do protective styles?

Jem: Yes! Faux locs are my favourite protective style (SK: I enjoyed my grey and black faux locs too for sure)

SK: Tell me about a great hair day or a bad hair day in short, or about a liked or frustrating feature about your hair.

Jem: The most frustrating part of my hair is after removing a protective style that I have kept for more than 2 weeks, my hair becomes very tangled. Small knots are the absolute worst.

SK: How do you detangle?

Jem: Finger detangling and my Denman brush. I can’t live without my Denman Brush. (SK: I love my Denman too but y’all already know that *hides face* lol)

SK: Do you have any hair crushes?

Jem: Tracee Ellis Ross

SK: What would you say to employers and teachers out there who think that natural hair is not for the office or the classroom, respectively?

Jem: I have encountered this on my job. I work in a very professional environment and I was once told that my hair was too big. It was very disheartening to hear.

As a black professional woman, I strive for diversity in the work place. I will and have told management that my hair does not define my skill sets.

SK: Describe your hair in one word, and why?

Jem: Crown, because I am a black queen and I wear my crown proudly.

SK: Name something outrageous or edgy or just different you would love to try with your hair but have not had the guts to try YET!

Jem: I would love to rock an extreme color. Something like blue or purple, but I could not do that in my current profession.

SK: I’m so sad at how the Caribbean naturalistas really are restricted at work it seems…sigh 😦

Oh well, that’s a story for another blog.

Thanks again Jem 🙂

Ciao!

